Logan Together

Board of Directors

Logan Child Friendly Community Limited receives funds from our Funders. 

The Company is overseen by a Board of Directors which guides the work of the Backbone team.

Our Directors

Margaret Allison

With a background in human services, Margaret has over 35 years’ experience in state and local government, including roles as the Chief Executive of the Public Service Commission and Director-General of the Department of Communities, Child Safety and Disability Services. She retired from the public service in late 2013.

In 25 years of holding a range of senior executive positions, her roles included service delivery reform, social policy and planning, program development, legislative reform, organisational review, resource management and planning, strategic management and oversight of major change activities with a whole-of-government and broader community focus.

Margaret was appointed as a Fellow of the Institute of Public Administration Australia in 2008, and is also appointed as an Adjunct Professor in the School of Business and International Relations at Griffith University.

Margaret now works as a consultant in her own business, and holds a number of Board positions.


Lesley Chenoweth

Lesley has more than 35 years experience as a social work and human service practitioner, academic and activist chiefly in the disability area. She headed the Griffith University Logan Campus until 2017.

Lesley is a regular consultant to government and community organisations and has served on numerous boards and committees for disability, legal and family welfare agencies.

Geoff Woolcock

Geoff Woolcock is a Senior Research Fellow at the University of Southern Queensland’s Institute for Resilient Regions, and an Adjunct Associate Professor at Griffith University’s School of Human Services and Social Work and QUT’s Centre for Children’s Health. He is particularly interested in applying indicators of community strengths in socio-economically disadvantaged communities and the factors that contribute to building child- and youth-friendly communities. His work with large-scale public and private sector organisations concentrates on developing measures of communities’ strengths, closely collaborating with local communities. Geoff is an experienced social researcher with considerable expertise in social and community service planning and evaluation, including social impact assessment and project evaluation. He has 25 years community-based research experience nationally and internationally, in housing, youth and health sectors. He is a board director of the Brisbane Housing Company, the Australian National Development Index (ANDI) and the Logan Child-Friendly Community Charitable Trust overseeing the high-profile collective impact initiative, Logan Together. He speaks frequently to diverse audiences about social and community development using a whole-of-community approach.


Kevin MarFan

Kevin is a Chartered Accountant and Certified Information Systems Auditor who brings over 20 years’ experience across both public and private sectors in Australia, USA and Europe.He chairs the Ernst & Young’s Diversity and Inclusion Committee and leads the firm’s Technology Risk practice in Queensland.

Kevin joined the Board in February 2019.






The Roadmap